Dr. Shirley Kempeneer of Tilburg Law School has won the 2019 Van Poelje Best Public Administration Dissertation Award for her dissertation Breaking the Bank. On Thursday, October 29, 2020, President of the Executive Board and soon-to-be-installed Rector Magnificus of Tilburg University Professor Wim van de Donk presented the award to her. 

Four dissertations had been nominated:

  • Joram Feitsma (Utrecht University) - Inside the behavioural state.
  • Shirley Kempeneer (Tilburg University) - Breaking the bank. The regulatory implications of knowledge production through indicators (defended at University of Antwerp).
  • Tom Overmans (Utrecht University) - The austerity paradox. How municipalities (can) innovatively cope with fiscal stress.
  • Tine van Thielen (Ghent University) - Performance management in policing. Context, process and outcomes.

Click here for the 2019 Van Poelje Award jury report.

Award ceremony video (in Dutch)